VIE+W | My love for international relations and the European Union

Hi! My name is Marta and I come from Padua in the North-East of Italy. I really like my region since, from a geographical point of view, it has everything: mountains, hills, lake, rivers, and the sea.

After the high school years, in which I studied economy and obtained a chartered accountant qualification, I decided to go to the university. I enrolled in a private university in Padua called CIELS, in a degree called language mediation for international and diplomatic organizations.


During these three years, I was able to improve my language skills in English and French and to study topics like international law, contemporary history and diplomacy. During the first semester of my third (and last) year, I went to Mons, in the Wallonian part of Belgium, for my Erasmus. I loved living there. The city was not at all big, so you could walk everywhere and it had this nordic vibe with these typical Belgian brick houses that I love. Moreover, I loved the multicultural atmosphere Belgium has and the fact that you can easily travel across all countries. I think that my favourite Belgian city was Bruges (or Brugge in Flemish), it’s really a medieval jewel. If you have never been there you should go.


After my bachelor degree with a thesis on the translation of comic books, I started working as a language tutor, teaching English and French to those students (both young and adult) wanting to obtain a diploma. At the same time I have also translated two comic books (The Shepherd and The Last Hunt) from English to Italian.


My love for international relations and the European Union has led me to enroll to a Master degree on European and Global Studies at the Università di Padova, a master degree completely taught in English and focused on the understanding of the European Union and its institutions. In the future, I would like to work in an international environment, preferably in the EU.


I decided to do my internship here, at ICDET, because it is an NGO working with the EU and with trainees coming from everywhere and because I had never been to an eastern country and I wanted to know it. Unfortunately, I will be here only for two months, but I will do my best to learn as much as I can.

I am currently working in the Project Development department since it is about what I have studied in my Master degree. I hope I will develop some interesting projects!





Marta Bragagnolo, intern@ICDET

logo-erasmus-plus.png
esc-logo-en-white.png

© Copyright 2021 by ICDET